Home / Teams / Costa Rica Football team 2018

Costa Rica Football team 2018

Fifa Ranking: 26


Costa Rica has a long-standing football culture and tradition.

The national team made its debut in the Independence Centenary Games held in Guatemala City in September 1921, winning their first game 7–0 against El Salvador. In the final, Costa Rica defeated 6–0 Guatemala to claim the trophy.

The football team of Costa Rica has been characterized above all by its regularity over the years. Well remembered is the selection of this country formed in the late 1940s acquiring the nickname of “The Gold Shorties”. Throughout the ’50s and ’60s, they were very much the second strongest team in the CONCACAF zone behind Mexico, finishing runners-up in World Cup qualifying in the 1958, 1962 and 1966 qualifiers. Stars of the side during this period were Ruben Jimenez, Errol Daniels, Leonel Hernandez and Edgar Marin.

However, at the end of the ’60s, their fortunes would decline as other teams in the region such as Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Haiti, Trinidad & Tobago and Canada came to the fore. Although the majority of these participants have been short on points in their World Cup performances. During the 1970s and most of the 1980s, the Costa Rican team went unnoticed and was absent from World Cups. Costa Rica failed to make the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying rounds until the 1986 qualifier. Currently, its historical topscorer is Rolando Fonseca with 47 goals.

Costa Rica In Fifa World Cup:

The Costa Rica national football team (Spanish: Selección de fútbol de Costa Rica) is administered by the Costa Rican Football Federation(FEDEFUTBOL), the governing body for football in Costa Rica. They have been a member of the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA)since 1927, a member of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) since 1961 and a member of the Unión Centroamericana de Fútbol (UNCAF) since 1990.

Costa Rica is the most successful national football team in the history of Central America. They have won three CONCACAF Championships (1963, 1969and 1989) and a leading with eight championships in the Copa Centroamericana and its predecessor. Costa Rica is the only national team in Central America to have played in four FIFA World Cup editions. Costa Rica’s national football team has the all-time highest average Football Elo Ranking in Central America with 1597.1, and the all-time highest Football Elo Ranking in Central America, from 1806 in 2014.



image source:-www.google.com

Having previously worked as an assistant coach for Los Ticos, first in 2006 and then in 2015, Ramirez succeeded Paulo Wanchope to take the main role in August 2015. The former midfielder featured in four matches for his country at Italy 1990 and his previous coaching experience is exclusively in his homeland at club level.


CRC – USA (4-0) 15 NOV 2016:

In just their second match of the Hexagonal stage, Los Ticos announced emphatically how strong a candidate they were for qualification, with Joel Campbell completing his brace to hand the USA a 4-0 defeat.

Star Player:


star player of Costa Rica
image source:-www.google.com

An attacking midfielder who can also play as a second striker, Ruiz was a key player in Costa Rica’s run to the quarter-finals at Brazil 2014. The Ticos captain scored three goals in qualifying for Russia 2018


About FifaWorldCups

Check Also

Mexico Football team 2018

Fifa Ranking: 16 History: Football in Mexico was first organized in the early 20th century by European immigrant groups, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *